The TelePresence is strong with this one

(Image from Bernard Leong)

I’ve experienced Cisco’s TelePresence technology and I must say, it’s pretty amazing.

I met up with bloggers Daniel Cerventus and James Yeang to test the TelePresence 3000, recently. It was all pretty informal, which is good; no major PR fuss, no jostling for front row seats or fighting over swag. They showed us to a room, sat us down and bang, we were looking across a table at people in Singapore just like they were sitting right in front of us.

The folks in Singapore were, in fact, sitting in a room much like ours. It was tastefully lit, had three 65-inch screens and chairs and a table.

But as we introduced ourselves and got to know a little about them, it felt more like our two rooms were magically linked together, rather than just a bunch of people talking to each other like they weren’t thousands of miles apart.

If you’re used to Skype or MSN video calls, just imagine what it would be like to be talking to someone far away yet be completely free of lags, audio clipping or just about any other annoyance that comes with modern video-conferencing. It’s not that I’m being paid to say this, but TelePresence is just that good. I’d love to have a look at their usability case studies because it’s wonderful how they made it so easy to use.

Of course, we ended up chatting long past our time limit, but hey, it’s not every day you get to experience a bit of science fiction come to life, right?

While the cost and practical use may deter private ownership, I’d definitely recommend this sort of tech to companies as a way of improving communication between offices and cutting down travel costs. You’d probably end up saving a hell of a lot more with one of these babies in your HQ, where you can dial in and ‘meet up’ with your counterparts practically every day, instead of wasting money flying people all over the place for short business trips, all year round.

You can find out more about what Cisco does on their blog.

6 Comments

Filed under Cool, Development, Events, Geek, Ideas, News, Previews, Trends

6 responses to “The TelePresence is strong with this one

  1. I just realized you and the guy next to you (in the same frame) have the exact same pose! Except you look twice as small πŸ˜›

  2. This is perfect for my long distance call with my mum when she kept asking, “have you tried to lose some weight?”

  3. Suffian Rahman

    @Nora
    Yes, I look just about as tall as Frodo Baggins in that photo. The guy next to me is Daniel. Awesome dude.

    @Zana
    Haha. I think we should all have that luxury a few years down the road. One of the random thoughts that crossed my mind was, “Imagine how cool it would be to have one of these in every Malaysian embassy, so that our students could chat with their parents once in a while.”

  4. E

    Hello Suffian,

    I have a slightly off-topic comment / question.

    I went through a few job search sites tonight as I was curious to see whether my skill set is required by agencies in Malaysia.

    I currently work in an agency in Sydney. My projects are almost entirely within the digital space – eDMs, banners, digital content and websites. My skills lie within the project management realm right from conception to completion.

    I was unable to find anything results from my search tonight similar to what I am doing right now, apart from that there doesn’t seem to be a demand for someone whose expertise are within the digital space.

    Long story cut short my google search led me to your blog and after running through some of your entries i get the impression that you have more of an insight as to whether someone like me might be able to find a position easily when I return to Malaysia.

    Anyway, hopefully I will hear back from you.

    On a less off topic note, we recently did a campaign for Cisco’s Webex technology and it definitely is useful tool for work and sharing ideas.

    Thanks for your time πŸ™‚

  5. Suffian Rahman

    Hello E, thanks for dropping by my blog and reading my posts. πŸ™‚

    To be honest, I think there’s a lot of opportunity for people like you, because, as the industry matures, it will need more people with proper digital backgrounds.

    I think the reason why you don’t see that many job listings is because there is currently a lack of specialization in ‘traditional’ agencies; the job of project management usually falls on account servicing because there is no need for project managers in a traditional ATL or BTL environment. Project managers are more of an ‘interactive’ thing, and most traditional agencies haven’t realized this yet.

    Heck, most agencies do not even see the need to employ full-time user interface designers, information architects or project managers, because, we probably haven’t reached the point where they’re an indispensable part of the digital work flow.

  6. E

    Hello Suffian thank you so much.

    They don’t see the benefits until they hire one. The agency hired their first IA last year and what a relief. We no longer need to be hacking out wireframes using the power of imagination (although thank god for Axure!). I’m happy to leave it to the experts.

    Are account executives similar to account managers in Malaysia? I can’t imagine an account manager who’d enjoy working on timelines, func specs and briefs!

    Hopefully Malaysia will catch on and ride the interactive wave because I would really love to be a part of it when it happens. Hopefully it won’t be a long wait because i do miss home :D. You wouldn’t happen to know if it’s better in Singapore would you?

Leave a Reply

