5 things I learned from Adfest 2008

img_6020.jpg

(Image from Pebbles. Thanks, Pebbles!)

In no particular order, here are 5 things I learned from Adfest 2008:

1. BBDO workouts are great

A BBDO workout is basically a special brainstorming session where people from all over the network turn up to generate ideas for our clients.

I was lucky enough to be part of BBDO Bangkok Chief Creative Officer Suthisak Sucharittanonta‘s team. I met some really cool folks from Japan and the Philippines, too.

For real: you learn a lot when you’re the only digital guy in your team.

2. Stefan Sagmeister rocks

“What the hell is the founder’s signature doing on the back of the card?”

The design guru not only spoke of the wisdom he gained throughout life but also told all of us why our business cards suck. Seriously, that was the highlight of Stefan Sagmeister‘s speech.

Agencies, maybe it’s time to rethink your design values. Readers, if you’re into design, you can probably learn a hell of a lot from Sagmeister.

Just try not to copy him too much, if you can.

3. So does Paul Kemp-Robertson, Tony Davidson and Alex “Burnie” Burnard.

The ‘digital’ guys made a lot of sense. Maybe because they talk the talk because they walk the walk.

Alex Burnard was funny.

Tony Davidson made me want to work for Honda.

And Paul Kemp-Robertson made me happy that I am a Contagious subscriber.

Seriously, Paul has some really good ideas up his sleeve. And he knows his shit like Cedric.

4. And Nissin Cup Noodles rules, too.

Or to be exact, the ambitious Freedom Project. It was a campaign that promoted the 35th Anniversary of Nissin Cup Noodles.

What? How in the world do cup noodles rock?

When they’re part of a campaign that includes people like Katsuhiro Otomo (the dude who made Akira).

It won a 360 Lotus. And that’s not a very easy thing to do, folks.

5. Awards shows are still just awards shows

I went to the Kancils and the DMAM awards shows in 2007. I just came back from Adfest 2008.

It’s inspiring to see great work, especially work like Colour Tokyo and the Freedom Project but I had to keep reminding myself that none of the work that I saw was judged on the basis of effectiveness.

In the words of a judge that I spoke to right after the awards dinner, it was a purely creative awards show.

Maybe I’m anal-retentive, but I can’t separate good digital work from good results.

And ladies and gentlemen, I’m not talking about hits.

All in all, it was an insightful experience and of course, I’m very thankful for it.

Next on my list; the Webbies!

1 Comment

Filed under Advertising, Art, Awards, Content, Cool, Design, Events, Funny, Ideas, Life, News, Reviews, Trends, Videos, Web

One response to “5 things I learned from Adfest 2008

  1. Pingback: Kancil Awards 2008 - Change the Game « (dis)information architecture

Leave a Reply

