M&C Saatchi

mncsaatchi1.jpg

Last month I wrote a post where I made fun of some silly ad agencies websites.

I rattled on about their bad information architecture, user interfaces and highlighted some major design flaws.

Don’t get me wrong; I don’t have a problem with any of these nice multinationals.

I’m just letting off some steam, see, because I’m still frustrated about how ad agencies like to use the Web. I’m a little frustrated because even this year, the year of Twitter, the year of Semantic Web, the Year of Our Lord Two Thousand and Eight, some people are still preoccupied with presentation over content.

Some people still insist on long Flash intros, loading bars and strange storytelling when they should be concerned about content because content is what fuels social interaction and, duh, that’s what connects people to the Web.

(Like you, my loyal reader. There’s a reason why you keep coming back, yes?)

So, yeah, most ad agencies get the whole ad agency website thing horribly wrong.

M&C Saatchi‘s website, however, is an exception to the rule.

By the looks of their Home page, this is one agency that knows how to play ball.

Hey, look, grid-based web design! Hey, look, well-categorized information that includes news features and press releases! Hey, look, detailed search functions!

Slap my ass and call me Daddy, they’ve even got an accessibility statement page! And you can even download and print a contact list and their portfolio of work…in PDF!

Granted, the website was designed by the UK digital agency *play, but I bet that Someone Somewhere had to go through a great deal of wrangling just to convince the management to buy the simple idea.

I’m sorry if I hurt your feelings, but In My Honest Opinion this is how an ad agency’s website should look and behave; structured, simple and straight to the point.

2 Comments

Filed under Accessibility, Advertising, Design, Development, Information Architecture, Reviews, Trends, Usability, Web

2 responses to “M&C Saatchi

  1. I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

    Stacey Derbinshire

  2. Suffian Rahman

    Thanks, Stacey! I try to be as honest as as possible in my posts.

Leave a Reply

