BP.com

bp1.jpg

If I was the boss, I’d change some of the photos on BP.com.

Don’t get me wrong; I think it’s a great website because it’s based on a grid layout, it’s search-friendly and it’s quite easy to use (and that means it’s journalist-friendly, too).

But if I owned an oil company, I’d make my website look exactly the opposite of what people expect from an oil company, because, and here’s the thought: when you’re in the business of selling gas, do you actually have to show people that you’re selling gas?

Do you have to use photos of gas stations, refineries or oil rigs? I’m playing the devil’s advocate here, but aren’t you free to paint a slightly different picture?

2 Comments

Filed under Accessibility, Advertising, Information Architecture, Reviews, Usability, Web

2 responses to “BP.com

  1. Pingback: oil & gas futures

  2. Pingback: Website Usability Test

Leave a Reply

